I’m utterly overwhelmed by the games I want to play right now. Gears of War 2 – a probable Game of the Year winner – has so much of my attention right now, along with Mirror’s Edge, and LittleBigPlanet on PS3; Call of Duty 5 and Resistance: Fall of Man 2 are must-plays for me I haven’t even contemplated yet, and I haven’t even gotten around to considering what I’m going to do about Guitar Hero World Tour and the dangerous proliferation of plastic music instruments I’m accumulating, as Rock Band has grown into a full-time obsession. Along with Dead Space (sci-fi survival horror featuring a combat style known as “strategic dismemberment” is so my bag), Fallout 3 (post-apocalyptic sci-fi RPG), Left 4 Dead – a dream for a life-long zombie fan… not to mention my power-playthrough of Penny Arcade Episode 2 last week… and a handful of others that are strongly on my radar; so far down the list is getting a few rounds of Tiger Woods ’09 in, some FORZA2 and racing wheel time, some Burnout: Paradise without the racing wheel but still mad fun… and did I mention I’m still working on Shadows of the Colossus? They really load the gaming fan down this time of year, hardly have time to catch your breath, let alone grapple with your backlog.

Why is it this way? I mean, it’s not like the video game industry is like the film industry, trying to back-load Oscar bait into the last 3 months of the year. Yeah, Christmas plays a big part, but you release too many games at one time, and some are going to suffer – just look at how the respectable Medal of Honor: Airborne got lost in the shuffle last holiday season. Meanwhile, the spring is often a wasteland for gaming, with maybe one or two major releases – such as the ultimately disappointing GTA4 – dominating the entire landscape.

Ah, well, it is what it is.

